Exploring the world of caviar: A guide to types and flavors

Caviar is a luxurious delicacy that has been enjoyed for centuries. A decadent and exclusive ingredient, known for its unmistakable flavor and texture. But did you know that there are different types of caviar? In this blog, we will show you some of the most popular varieties of this high-end gastronomic ingredient.

Beluga Caviar

It is usually considered the king of caviar for its large, shiny grains, and its rich, buttery flavor. It comes from the beluga sturgeon located exclusively in the Caspian Sea. Due to overfishing and habitat destruction, this caviar is highly valued for its rarity and demand.

Osetra Caviar

This is another popular variety that comes from the Osetra sturgeon, which is found in the Caspian and Black Seas. It has a slightly salty yet nutty flavor, as well as medium-sized grains ranging from light brown to dark gray.

Sevruga Caviar

Known as the smallest and most abundant of the three main types of caviar, it has tiny, firm grains ranging in color from dark gray to black. It comes from the Sevruga sturgeon, which is found in the Caspian and Black Seas. It has a slightly salty and spicy flavor and is often used as a garnish in haute cuisine.

American Caviar

American caviar can come from different species of sturgeon, such as white sturgeon, Hackleback, and Paddlefish. Its name is due to its American origin and has a milder flavor and smaller grains.

If you are looking for a restaurant with caviar, at Harry’s, we have this ingredient within our exclusive menu that you can enjoy with some blinis, hard-boiled egg, chives, and sour cream. 

Our expert staff can help you choose the perfect wine pairing, which is an essential part of our elegant and sophisticated atmosphere, becoming the perfect setting to enjoy this delicacy.

Book now and enjoy more exclusive dishes. You can find us in Cancun, Acapulco, and Playa del Carmen.

Scroll al inicio